UA-48274332-1 Quintessence Saxophone Quintet - five seasons

Quintessence Saxophone Quintet

Contact Us

The  "Four Seasons“ by Antonio Vivaldi belong to the most-played works in the classical repertoire. Despite this fact, they don't become boring or tiring to hear.
The Quintessence Saxophone Quintett has made a „Concerto grosso“ of the piece, all saxophones playing their share of the solo position. Even more astounding the most untypical instrumentation with two soprano saxophones, one alto, one tenor and one baritone saxophone. Dedicated to the cause a special fifth season was composed by Uli Lettermann expanding Vivaldi's music to another sphere.
The Ensemble choose to play a selection of the fifteen movements which provides a sensual and invigorating confrontation with a refreshing new perspective to Vivaldi's masterpiece.
An exemplary first set:

  • Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, "La primavera"

  • Spring I , allegro

  • Spring III, allegro pastorale

  • Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8, RV 315, "L'estate"

  • Summer I, allegro non molto

  • Summer III, presto

  • Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293, "L'autunno"

  • Autumn III, allegro

  • Concerto No. 4 in F minor, Op. 8, RV 297, "L'inverno

  • Winter II, largo
  • Winter I, allegro non molto

  • Fifth Season III, composed by Uli Lettermann

For those of you who can read German, here's a great
Review (in German)

QSQ respects your privacy, this website is conform to the GDPR. More information can be found here in German.
QSQ respektiert Ihre Privatsphäre, die Website is DSGVO-konform. Informationen dazu sind einzusehen bei der Seite: